Virginia auto insurance coverage
According to Virginia law, all motorists require coverage for bodily injury or property damage stemming from an accident. Of course, you may bypass the purchase of car insurance by paying the Virginia Department of Motor vehicles. But as most drivers find, auto insurance is both practical and cost-effective.
A quality, Virginia auto insurance provider will help you rebound from a collision. Whether you require liability insurance or comprehensive coverage, you can personalize your policy to your needs-as long as you meet the minimum state requirements in Virginia. From Audi to Volvo we have you covered Virginia motorists. We offer you a range of auto insurance policies to select from, available now at https://freevirginiaquotes.com/virginia-auto-insurance/
If you purchase Virginia auto insurance, you must fulfill the following criteria. All insured Virginia motorists need liability insurance to cover physical injuries and property damage, incurred by the other party during an accident. A Virginia insurance policy requires a bare minimum of $25,000 for one person, $50,000 for total injuries, and $20,000 for property damage.
Unlike many states, Virginia requires that all drivers purchase underinsured or uninsured motorist insurance. If you are hit by an uninsured driver, you will need this coverage to pay your property and medical expenses. Underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage will help supplement the costs, and alleviate the stress of paying out of pocket. By law, your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage must be equivalent to your liability coverage.
Uninsured Vehicle Fee
All cars in this state must be registered with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. Upon registering your vehicle, you must verify whether your car is insured in the state of Virginia. If you cannot afford automobile insurance, you will be subject to a $500 fee as a result. This fee permits the legal operation of a vehicle for 12 total months. However, if you experience a car collision during this time frame, you will not receive coverage for any property damages or injuries incurred. You will be responsible for these costs, if you are liable for an accident.
To maximize the value of your policy, you may consider buying supplemental coverage. This may refer to collision, comprehensive or medical expense coverage. Collision coverage will offset the costs of any car damage you experience during an accident. This should be distinguished from liability insurance, which is only designed to protect the other party during an accident. Comprehensive coverage will accommodate all non-collision related incidents, such as theft and vandalism. Finally, medical expense coverage can supplement your health costs if needed.
Force Placed Insurance
If your car has been financed by a lender, then you may be required to purchase coverage, whether you agree to it or not. It should be noted that in the state of Virginia, you are not required to purchase a formal Virginia auto insurance policy, if you pay your $500 fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles. However, a financial lender may be wary of the risks of driving without insurance. In this case, they may place you under a force-placed insurance plan and charge the monthly premium. Force placed car insurance will not fulfill the state requirements. The purpose of this insurance is to safeguard the lender, not you.
Of course, you can also conduct price comparisons on the web to find an affordable and quality insurance policy. Remember, from Audi to Volvo we have you covered Virginia drivers, compare here freevirginiaquotes.com